Spring is bringing back my mojo.

IMG_0160

Greek Salad on our first outdoor meal of the year!

I am still in that third trimester funk of discomfort and exhaustion, I am still totally jealous and incredulous marvelling at all the homesteading, home schooling, art mama blogs I read from women zipping around managing 3 children with a 4th on the way who seem to fit triple the amount of stuff in a day that I do. I ration myself on them so I don’t get too blue about how little I seem to accomplish beyond keeping my son reasonably clean, away from the kitchen knives and well fed.

But in the last few days my energy levels have increased a surprising amount.  It might be the sunshine, it might be the impending deadline of Baby but I think it might be having gestational diabetes.  I have eaten refined sugar in 3 weeks and I think it has really levelled out my energy levels.  Hurray!  Silver linings!

I have completed projects!

2 baby cardigans knitted, blocked and bedecked with buttons (photos to follow)

1 pair of mended trousers for R

1 baby hat (corrected from the disaster here)

1 giant maslin pan full of homemade stock (which cleared 3 chicken carcasses out of the freezer)

18 Cheesy courgette muffins made with R (I want to do more cooking with him – so far going well)

3 portions of Lasagne for the freezer (for Babygeddon)

1 session of painting with R (I feel guilty if I’m too tired to have art time with him)

Work trip to Newcastle (which I totally survived)

With help from family I reviewed all my current baby clothes and sleeping sacks.  Worked out the gaps in my collection and decided to cast on for a quick red cardigan in lightweight wool just in case it is a chilly May when they arrive… And then I did some shopping (online because getting into an actual shop these days is more effort that it is worth!).

First up ‘The Creative Family’ by Amanda Blake Soule – full of ideas and projects that I love.  I’m mostly being good and plan to update my BIG LIST rather than feeling like I have to make them all NOW, NOW, NOW.

Although I’m tempted to make R a felt crown from the book using the same design as Max’s Crown in “Where the Wild Things Are’. I think he’d like that for his birthday and it would be easy to run up on the machine before the baby arrives…

IMG_0161

Second (ordered all the way from Australia!) Rhonda Hetzel’s new book ‘The Simple Home’.  You can’t get it in the UK so it had to come from the other side of the world.  But I’ve read her first book (and blog) so many times I realised I had to have this in hard copy. I’ll be reading it with a pencil and stack of post it notes, marking what I want to make as I go.

Lastly the yarn I need to finished a pair of navy socks for a friend has arrived.  I have struggled to knit with this yarn.  It make my hands cramp up something fierce.  But I want to get these off my back and I’m over half-way through the second sock.  I CAN get this done before B- Day, I know I can.

I’d love to hear about anyone else spending their third trimester lying on a sofa feeling like they barely have the energy to make a cup of tea.  It would make me feel less alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

