Produce Swap

Last night I finally made it to Transition Chesterfield’s Green Drinks.  I’ve been meaning to go for ages but haven’t quite made it before.  But this time I was fully prepared.

One of the reasons I’ve been so keen to go is the Produce Swap part of the evening.  I’ve suffered in the past with gluts and the feeling of guilt that you don’t want to let anything you have grown go to waste.  It is just that mentality that led Josh and I to eat purple sprouting broccoli for every meal for about 2 weeks (there is too much of a good thing).

Ready for swapping!

Ready for swapping!

This year (if the slugs let me) I hope to have gluts again and if I do I’ll be looking forward to swapping them for crops that didn’t make it (courgettes I’m looking at you!)

It kicked off for me last night. I took a bunch of herbs from the garden and a jar of bramble jelly.  I make lots of jam and jelly and I make far more than we eat.  Some of it goes to relatives but some of it sits in the larder, swapping it makes perfect sense.  In return I got a box of nearly vegan mocha cookies (delicious!) and a bottle of Elderflower champagne!

Can’t wait to see what happens next month.  I’m hoping I might have something else from the garden to bring.

Edited to add: I’m not sure I’ve adequately explained how childishly excited I felt about this swapping business.  I got a real sense of anticipation and thrill when other people turned up with things.  But there is also a real sense of saving money – today whilst I was working I thought about popping over to the garage and getting some chocolate and then I stopped and decided I should have one of my mocha cookies instead.  Small steps…

2 thoughts on “Produce Swap

  1. Becky A Post author

    As far as I can understand it it just a standing activity at Green Drinks – which happens once a month. I look after the facebook page for Transition Chesterfield and have been trying to promote it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

